I Just Bought My Boyfriend a Nose Hair Trimmer

It just happened. I noticed the nose hair trimmer section as I searched the aisles of Target for cinnamon dental floss. My boyfriend had mentioned he might need one a few weeks prior so it seemed like a logical purchase.  I compared the various nose hair trimmer brands that Target offered, pondering the strengths and weakness of each model’s efficiency and speed. Additionally, I went above and beyond by googling reviews of each model on my iphone. I lingered in the shaving supply aisle at Target for over twenty minutes reading about stranger’s personal experiences of pulling and trimming long and unruly nose hairs. Once I felt adequately educated on the product choice, I placed the winning black and silver box into my basket.

What makes this purchase more troubling in retrospect is that I gave it to my 33-year old boyfriend as a birthday present. I felt excited for him to unwrap the brand new nose hair trimmer. I honestly found nothing wrong with the offering until I saw his face the moment he opened the present. He pulled the bright green and blue tissue paper out of the oversized, glossy gift bag.  He grabbed the large box with shiny 49ers wrapping paper and grinned at me. Finally, he tore off the paper and excessive red ribbons I had tied onto the box.

Immediately, his excited facial expression morphed into a confused stare and then a slightly embarrassed but amused smile. It was at that moment I realized what I had done. Wow. I bought my 33-year old boyfriend a nose hair trimmer for his birthday. What had happened to me? When did the fun, flirty girlfriend turn into a practical partner concerned about noticeable nose hair? Where was the sexy and fun gift of massage oil or thoughtful tickets to his favorite band’s concert? I knew things had to change.

 

 

Leave a comment